Saturday, 9 April 2011

I P L 2011

Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League (often abbreviated as IPL) is a professional league for Twenty20 cricket competition in India. It was initiated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) headquartered in Mumbai[3][4] supervised by BCCI Vice President Chirayu Amin, current chairman and commissioner of IPL, and CEO, Sundar Raman. It is currently contested by 10 teams consisting of players from around the world. It was started after an altercation between the BCCI and the Indian Cricket League.[5]

In 2010, IPL became the first sporting event ever to be broadcast live on YouTube.[6] Its brand value was estimated to be around $4.13 billion the same year.[7][8] According to global sports salaries review, IPL is the second highest-paid league, based on first-team salaries on a pro rata basis, second only to the NBA. It is estimated that the average salary of an IPL player over a year would be $3.84 million.[9] The brand value of Chennai Super Kings (winner IPL 2010, finalist IPL 2008 and semi-finalist IPL 2009) is estimated at USD 48.4 Million.

Franchise↓ City↓ Inception↓ Owner(s)↓ Captain↓ Coach↓
MI Mumbai Indians Mumbai 2008 Mukesh Ambani (Owner of Reliance Industries) Sachin Tendulkar Robin Singh
RCB Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore 2008 Vijay Mallya (UB Group) Daniel Vettori Ray Jennings
DC Deccan Chargers Hyderabad 2008 Deccan Chronicle group Kumar Sangakkara Darren Lehmann
CSK Chennai Super Kings Chennai 2008 India Cements (N.Srinivasan) Mahendra Singh Dhoni Stephen Fleming
DD Delhi Daredevils New Delhi 2008 GMR Group Virender Sehwag Greg Shipperd
KXIP Kings XI Punjab Chandigarh 2008 Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Dabur, Apeejay Surendera Group Adam Gilchrist Michael Bevan
KKR Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata 2008 Red Chillies Entertainment (Shah Rukh Khan) Gautam Gambhir Dav Whatmore
RR Rajasthan Royals Jaipur 2008 Emerging Media (Lachlan Murdoch), Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra Shane Warne Shane Warne
PW Pune Warriors India Pune 2011 Sahara Yuvraj Singh Geoff Marsh
KTK Kochi Tuskers Kerala Kochi 2011 Kochi Cricket Private Limited Mahela Jayawardene Geoff Lawson